Sunday NPR Nonsense

This weekend, most of my NPR consumption has been Nora and Delia Ephron-related, which is fine by me. My younger sister is also one of my closest friends and favorite people, and I hope and trust that we’ll continue to be as close as we get older and you know, write fabulous movies together or whatever it is we do. Without further ado, here’s the NPR nonsense for the week.

1. Delia Ephron on her late sister, Nora, and her own work. An old interview, but a good one all the same.

“She was born first, solo. I was born a sister, three years younger. I can only imagine her horror when I turned up. It was the first thing in her life that she had no control over.”

2. Just for fun, Nora plays Not My Job on Wait Wait Don’t Tell Me.

3. Love in Technicolor: Interracial Families on Television -Karen Grigsby Bates

“It’s not just seeing these families that makes them believable, right?” she [USC professor Marcia Dawkins] says. “It’s seeing how they interact with each other every day, what they’re dealing with in society; what possibilities they have, what special challenges they have as a family.”

4. ‘Sports Chaplains’ Bring the Gospel to Olympic Village – Corey Flintoff

“And so it goes — Southern accents meeting Slavic ones in the Olympic village.”

5. A Man, A Plan, A Concept Album About Panama

“From beginning to end, the album tracks the journey of Panama, starting with the Spanish “discovery” of the Pacific Ocean in 1513 — “an event,” [Danilo] Pérez tells NPR’s Arun Rath, “that basically changed the dynamic of the world, how the world connected. You know, Panama became a bridge.””

6. Robert Frost’s Letters Reveal: He Really Cared What Readers Thought – a book review by J. P. O’ Malley

“What I love best in man is definiteness of position. … My God how I adore some people who stand right out in history with distinct meaning.”

7. Wordless News: Trademarking the Cronut – Maria Fabrizio

A trademark was officially registered this week for the sweet pastry that has lured New Yorkers into long lines for months.

May your Sunday be merry and bright, my friends. Get your cronut fix while you still can.

Wait, can we “parody” that? Fair use? Yeah?

(image)

Leave a comment